For the Players
For the game

The Sunday Times England Women’s Player of the Year Award 2015 Nominees

May 6th, 2015

The Rugby Players’ Association (RPA) today announced the shortlist for The Sunday Times England Women’s Player of the Year Award 2015, which will be presented at the RPA Players’ Awards on Wednesday 13th May at Battersea Evolution, London.

The Sunday Times England Women’s Player of the Year award recognises the tremendous talent in England women’s rugby and is presented to the player deemed to have had the most outstanding season. The award has been voted for by the England Women’s EPS.

The four nominees are: Rochelle Clark, Alexandra Matthews, Emily Scarratt and Tamara Taylor.

It’s been a memorable year for Worcester prop Rochelle Clark. Not only was she part of England’s World Cup winning squad, but she also became the joint most-capped player of all time when she ran out against France during England’s Six Nations Campaign claiming her 100th cap.

At just 21-years-old Richmond back row, Alexandra Matthews, is fast becoming an integral part of the England squad having started every game of this year’s Six Nations Championship following an impressive World Cup Campaign.

This year’s third nominee is dynamic centre Emily Scarratt. Winner of the Women’s Player of the Year Award in 2013, she scored 16 of England’s 21 points in the Rugby World Cup final victory against Canada, including an outstanding try to seal a historic win.

The final nominee for the 2015 Award is powerful second row Tamara Taylor. Having played in three World Cups Taylor finally walked away a winner in 2014. She has been a mainstay of the England squad for over a decade amassing an impressive 83 caps.

The nominees for The Sunday Times England Women’s Player of the Year Award 2015 are:

Rochelle Clark

Alexandra Matthews

Emily Scarratt

Tamara Taylor

Reaction from the nominees:

Rochelle Clark said: “I’m more than honoured to be nominated for this award, especially as it shows your fellow players respect you and how you play the game. Not to mention how many other brilliant players we currently have in the squad, I feel somewhat shocked and out of place to be nominated amongst such an amazing group.”

Alexandra Matthews said: “This nomination has completely surprised me as I never thought I would ever be considered in the same vein as Rochelle Clark, Emily Scarratt and Tamara Taylor. However I’m most humbled to be up for an award which is purely voted by the people who push you to get the most out of yourself and your rugby ability.”

Emily Scarratt said: “To be nominated for an award voted by your fellow players will always be a very special achievement and I feel immensely proud to be up for this award. I’ve always worked towards the mantra that a team makes a performance, and that’s why I’m overwhelmed for their continued support in nominating me for this award.”

Tamara Taylor said: “The England Women’s Player of the Year Award is the one award that strives each and every player in English women’s rugby to perform at their best and I feel extremely privileged to be selected as one of the nominees. To receive the recognition from the players you train and compete with, will always be an amazing feeling.”

Previous winners:

2014: Rachael Burford

2013: Emily Scarratt